More Steam Arachnids

I painted another 3 steam arachnids and that now means I’ve got 6 fully painted up. I have another 3 I will paint soon, although I think 6 should suffice for most games. Still, maybe I just go crazy one time and throw spiders out for the sheer joy of it. As I was painting these I noticed 2 of them were missing their funnels. I have no idea when or where they fell off, so I think I’ve got to deal with them never being there. Funnily enough, none of the ones I am yet to paint are missing theirs. I’ve put all 6 completed spiders together for their class photo.

SteamArachnidx6

One thing I mentioned in my last post about Howard was how I was pleased with my metallics. So I figured I would do a side by side with the arachnids to show the different steps and how the look improves with each step. The first step is a plain base-coat with the metallic paint. I use heavily thinned down paints and it takes 2-4 coats to get good coverage. The rightmost spider has just had the base-coat applied. The next step is a wash with Blue-Brown, which you can see on the middle spider. This step gives some depth to the plain metallic and starts to dull the shine a little. The last step is a black was to bring out whatever panelling, rivets and other details are present. The spider on the left has had this step complete and is now ready for detailing.
SteamArachnid-WIP-1

In addition to the above I also do some highlighting with either the base, or a lighter colour, on the sharp edges and any raised details. I didn’t take a work in progress picture of this step, but if you look at Howard I have done this to the legs and shield with the base colour I used. If you also look at the final shot above you can see that the varnish I use (Testor’s Dullcote) also serves to lower the shine and give a more warn, natural look.

Leave a Reply

